25 Comments
author

From Diana Goetsch, I learned that the purpose of freewriting is to surprise yourself on the page—that the surprises that come in the act of writing are often better than anything we could have planned beforehand. She quotes Robert Frost: “No surprise for the writer, no surprise for the reader.”

Expand full comment

I think about this scene from SISTER ACT 2 (inspiration can come from anywhere!) weekly - I'm sure that Rilke said it more eloquently, but "if when you wake up in the morning, you can think of nothing BUT writing, then you're a writer" will always be a north star for me. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t5CyuMDuEQY

Expand full comment
author

I really needed to watch this clip today, thank you so much!

Expand full comment

I guess I've never seen Sister Act 2. That was great. And I freakin' loved the Ice Capades.

Expand full comment

Never use lined paper for your first drafts.

Expand full comment
author

Ooh! I do use lined paper but if I really get going, I ignore the lines completely. Might be time for a blank paper experiment though!

Expand full comment

I cannot remember where I heard this...

Stop writing in the middle of the sentence so that when you return you have somewhere to start.

Expand full comment
author

I've heard this about topics (stopping when you still have more to say about it when you come back), but not sentences! I'll try this out, though!

Expand full comment

“To not be afraid of my own opinions”, and “to follow the juice”. Comments from two different mentors. I think they are related to your comment on surprises, Finn. I am always amazed how ah ha moments come through the actual writing process when I stick with it through the messy middle parts.

Expand full comment
author

I agree, I think "follow the juice" is easy advice to read but actually following that juice can feel so scary and messy sometimes--but that seems to be where the surprises are.

Expand full comment

Yes, exactly- the juice is not always the fun exciting stuff. It includes anything that brings a strong reaction- the scary, unwanted stuff as well…

Expand full comment

Anne Lamott's Shitty First Drafts was one of the most useful concepts I ever heard. And I love all of Natalie Goldberg's advice to writers - especially the ten minutes writing exercise where you *just keep writing*

Expand full comment
author

Love these! And ten minutes of "just keep writing" can be so magical!

Expand full comment

Believe that you are a writer rather than someone who writes. It’s a subtle nuance but was invaluable for me to see myself as someone worth reading.

Expand full comment
author

Yes! This is such an important shift and one that I think we each have to make for ourselves -- no one else can bestow this belief on us if we are not willing to believe it ourselves.

Expand full comment

I’ve always found Anne Lamott ’s “bird by bird” approach to writing - and life - incredibly helpful. Tackling one sentence, one paragraph, or one page at a time has helped me a lot because it allows me to not get stressed out over how intimidating the project might be.

Expand full comment
author

Yes! One paragraph at a time! Or 15 minutes at a time! So important to not get stressed out over the big picture and just take the next step.

Expand full comment

"Write every day". I'm not sure, it probably was Anne Lamott. Her book Bird by Bird was my bible for a long time. I totally resonate with Natalie Goldberg (all of of her books are generous guides to not only the practice of and the writing itself but spirituality as well). And what I do? I read lots of others works. These days mostly poetry and memoir. There is a revolution going on with this genre and its hybrid shapes and forms (It's where I feel most comfortable writing). Start a blog. Feel like you have to publish? Don't wait, curate some of your own work into a book. (I've used Blurb). I had a few copies made then I made it available for free on social media. I no longer believe that writing is done alone (even when I'm in my office with no other humans present). We are constantly supported and buoyed up by ancestors of the past present and future. No timelines. Also, from Natalie Goldberg; she suggests reading your work to a good friend, not for critique but to hear the words, read by you, out loud. Additionally, have someone else read your words; the same rule applies-no critique, just deep listening. Whew...Thanks for asking this question!

Expand full comment
author

Yes to all of this, thank you so much!

And a special yes to:

"Feel like you have to publish? Don't wait, curate some of your own work into a book."

And also to:

"I no longer believe that writing is done alone (even when I'm in my office with no other humans present). We are constantly supported and buoyed up by ancestors of the past present and future. No timelines."

Your whole comment is full of words to live (and write) by.

Expand full comment

I was recently on a Zoom call with Christine Maul Rice (via a Monthly Mentorship get-together), who is the editor of Hypertext. She said writing is her job. If you were a miner, your job is to go to the mine. You don't wake up and say, "I don't feel like going to the mine today" or "I don't know what I'm going to mine today" You go because it is your job to go. It was a totally different perspective that I found interesting. Also, Finn, loved your book!! I think I forgot to tell you.

Expand full comment
author

Oh, thank you so much!

And I like this analogy -- I think it reminds me of something in Annie Dillard's The Writing Life, I think she wrote something like, "Writing is hard. Coal mining is harder," about just showing up and doing the work.

Expand full comment

All love for Anne Lamott, Natalie Goldberg, and Julia Cameron, too. AND Cheryl Strayed. But the bits of writing advice that are staying with me these days are these. 1) From Julia Cameron, "Rest on the page." There is something so soothing to me about going to the page to rest. If I'm putting pressure on myself to Write, I tell myself, no love, you can just rest on the page. (2) From Morgan Parker, "I will de-intellectualize and re-sensualize my writing life." I love to write with good pencils, on good paper, with a candle lit, a yummy drink, perfume, flowers or plants, a clean desk, wrapped in something soft--to get myself into my body and my senses to write is an enjoyable experience. It doesn't have to be that way. But if I can make it that way, I will.

Expand full comment
author

Rest on the page! I'm going to try that one out. And yes to a comfy and luxurious writing experience. Lately I've been writing in bed in the morning just because it's comfortable and feels easier to get started. (This was critical during my first trimester fatigue but now my energy is back and I've stuck with it just because I like it.)

Expand full comment

Oh, but "Write like a motherfucker," from Cheryl Strayed as Sugar, is also a mantra for me.

Expand full comment
author

Oh definitely! Love that one!

Expand full comment